The organiser published no funding terms. This is the largest band in the index and it is reported rather than filled in: an unstated cost is not zero, and an unstated award is not a number. Open the dossier and the official page before assuming either.
The money desk
Who pays,
and who charges.
Every record carries a funding classification, because it is the field that decides whether an artist can apply at all. What no organiser published stays marked as unpublished — the largest band on this page is the one nobody states.
- Funded or stipend
- 34
- Free to enter
- 19
- Published award
- 30
The funding ladder
Five classifications, one of which is an absence
The programme covers its core costs, usually accommodation and studio access. Travel, visas, materials and meals can still be excluded, so read the itemised support.
Stipend11Cash to the artist on top of, or instead of, covered costs. The amount and payment schedule matter more than the label.
Fee-based60The artist pays to take part. That can still be worth it, but it is a cost decision rather than an award, and the total rarely stops at the advertised fee.
Self-funded0Space or a place is offered; the artist carries everything else. Useful when the venue is the point and the budget already exists.
Entry cost
What it costs to apply
A published zero, never inferred from silence.
A stated amount in the source currency, from US$18.
Neither free nor priced on the official page. Check before preparing work.
No record in this index carries a published total cost of applying. Framing, shipping, insurance and commission are named on individual dossiers where the source states them; to model the rest for a specific call, use the true-cost calculator.
Published awards
30 records state a value, across 6 currencies
Umrao Singh Sher-Gil Grant for Photography 2026
Sher-Gil Sundaram Arts Foundation · India
- Funding
- Funded
- Entry
- Free
- Odds
- Not published
The International Portrait Competition
Portrait Society of America · Location not stated
- Funding
- Fee-based
- Entry
- US$55
- Odds
- Not published
Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant for Artists
Pollock-Krasner Foundation · Location not stated
- Funding
- Funded
- Entry
- Free
- Odds
- Not published
- Funding
- Fee-based
- Entry
- £59
- Odds
- Not published
Creative Fellowship Fund 2026, Round 2
Creative New Zealand, Toi Aotearoa · New Zealand
- Funding
- Funded
- Entry
- Free
- Odds
- Not published
Gottlieb Foundation Individual Support Grant
Adolph & Esther Gottlieb Foundation · Location not stated
- Funding
- Funded
- Entry
- Free
- Odds
- Not published
Values appear in the currency the source states. No exchange conversion is applied or implied.
Questions artists ask
Useful answers, without the fog.
What does fully funded actually include?
Fully funded should mean the programme covers its core costs, usually accommodation and studio access, but travel, visas, materials or meals can remain excluded. Read the itemised support and the source. A funded label is useful shorthand, not a substitute for the official terms.
Why do so many records say funding is not stated?
Because the organiser did not publish it. Where an official page does not say who pays for what, this index records that absence rather than inferring a value from the type of opportunity. An unstated cost is never converted to zero, and an unstated award is never converted to a number.
Does no application fee mean the opportunity is funded?
No. A free application says nothing about whether the programme pays a stipend, covers housing, or charges a participation fee after selection. Those are separate fields and are shown separately here for that reason.
Why are awards not converted to one currency?
Because an exchange rate on the day of reading is not something the organiser published. Awards appear in the currency the source states. Converting them would present our arithmetic as the funder's commitment.