This cycle closed on 15 September 2026. The evidence remains available for research. Every cycle Virginia Center for the Creative Arts has run
ResidencySource-linkedLocation restricted

Virginia Center for the Creative Arts Residency

Virginia Center for the Creative ArtsAmherst, Virginia, United States

The organiser's own photograph

Atmospheric artwork for Virginia Center for the Creative Arts Residency

The short answer

A residency from Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, Amherst, Virginia, United States. Applications close 15 September 2026. Official terms last checked 24 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserthe selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
15 September 2026
Entry
$30, waiver available on request at least five days before the deadline
Support
Self-funded
Award
Private en-suite bedroom, private studio and three prepared meals daily for up to six weeks. Partly self-funded: the Annual Fund covers over 50% of cost and artists contribute the balance unless awarded a fellowship
Who can apply
Visual artists selected by peer review on professional achievement or promise; one Mt. San Angelo residency every two years
Evidence checked
24 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from vcca.com and checked on 24 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

VCCA's Summer cycle closes September 15, 2026, covering residencies from May to August 2027 at Mt. San Angelo. Fellows receive a private bedroom with en-suite bath, a private studio and three prepared meals a day for up to six weeks. Be clear on cost: VCCA's Annual Fund covers more than half the actual cost and artists are expected to contribute the rest, though over $150,000 a year in financial aid and a list of fully funded named fellowships are available.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not statedPrivate en-suite bedroom, private studio and three prepared meals daily for up to six weeks. Partly self-funded: the Annual Fund covers over 50% of cost and artists contribute the balance unless awarded a fellowship
Entry fee
US$30$30, waiver available on request at least five days before the deadline
Total to enter
Not stated
Critical fields stated6/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityStated
  • Entry feeStated
  • AwardStated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerVirginia Center for the Creative Arts
TypeResidency
Disciplinesany
Location / onlineAmherst, Virginia, United States
EligibilityVisual artists selected by peer review on professional achievement or promise; one Mt. San Angelo residency every two years
Deadline15 September 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportPrivate en-suite bedroom, private studio and three prepared meals daily for up to six weeks. Partly self-funded: the Annual Fund covers over 50% of cost and artists contribute the balance unless awarded a fellowship
Entry fee$30, waiver available on request at least five days before the deadline
Funding typeSelf-funded
Verified24 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Headline award
Private en-suite bedroom, private studio and three prepared meals daily for up to six weeks. Partly self-funded: the Annual Fund covers over 50% of cost and artists contribute the balance unless awarded a fellowship
No figure given
Funding classification
Self-funded
Published signal

Not structured in this record

  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

US$30

Application
$30, waiver available on request at least five days before the deadline
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 24 August 2026Unchanged
Read the research standard

Organizer file

Virginia Center for the Creative Arts

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site