This cycle closed on 15 September 2026. The evidence remains available for research. Every cycle Ruby Mountain Project has run
ResidencySource-linkedInternational

Fall Residency

Ruby Mountain ProjectUnited States

Photograph of the place

Washington, D.C., United States — not a photograph of this opportunity. Jack Boucher, PD, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from Ruby Mountain Project, United States. Applications close 15 September 2026. Official terms last checked 31 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserhow it is funded, what it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
15 September 2026
Entry
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Evidence checked
31 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from rubymountainproject.com and checked on 31 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

The Ruby Mountain Project (RMP) Artist Residency is a multidisciplinary, land-based program in the extraordinary Mojave Desert focused on creativity, community, connection, and land stewardship. The residency supports artists in all stages with particular encouragement for BIPOC, LGBTQIA2S+. Residencies run from September through May and typically last three weeks, with shorter and longer stays available. Cohorts generally include up to three artists and provide private or outdoor studio space, basic accommodations, communal facilities, and access to select tools and equipment.

The fee-based program uses a sliding-scale model, with limited work-trade opportunities available to reduce costs. Programming includes cohort dinners, community gatherings, nature activities, director check-ins, and optional public workshops or presentations. Each residency concludes with an open studio opportunity for artists to share their work with the local community. The program prioritizes an inclusive, supportive environment and encourages meaningful relationships between artistic practice, community, and the Mojave Desert landscape.

Duration

1-3 weeks

Accommodation

The well-curated vintage travel trailers have kitchens with sinks, gas stoves and counter space. Beds are double sized mattresses and include linens and blankets. Tents are welcome. Everyone has access to the outdoor shower, pit toilet and outdoor kitchen. Wifi is available in the trailers and outdoor kitchen but not in the container studios. Guests are responsible for providing their own food and personal supplies.

Disciplines & equipment

Disciplines include painting, drawing, textiles, woodworking, sculpture, dance, performance, photography, writing, film, researchers

Studio

Residents are provided with either a private shipping container studio or outdoor workspace depending on their project needs. Many tools, work surfaces and equipment are available onsite including various power and wood working tools, sewing and natural dyeing equipment and a dance deck. Limited materials are on site including access to the scrap yard. All other materials and specialty tools must be provided by the artist.

Fees and support $230-$2000, depending on length of stay, specific accommodation, use of studio, as well as sliding scale factors. Partial work trades are available for up to 50% off the full fee, one opportunity per cohort and based on need and skill levels.

Expectations

Open studio gatherings occur at the end of the residency, offering the opportunity for artists to share their work with the local community through informal presentations, exhibitions, and conversation. Artists are welcome to create workshops, presentations or talks for the public during their stay if desired. No specific outcome or amount of production is asked or required of artists during their stay.

How to apply

Please read all info provided on website prior to applying. The application form is both short and long answer on a Google form. Once you have applied, you should get a response within two weeks. Once accepted, you will be provided with a contract and liability waiver to sign along with payment information. We accept Zelle and Paypal. You will also be provided with a guest handbook that provides more detailed information about your stay.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerRuby Mountain Project
TypeResidency
Disciplinesphotography
Location / onlineUnited States
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline15 September 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Funding typeNot stated
Verified31 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Funding classification
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 31 August 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

Ruby Mountain Project

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site