ResidencySource-linkedLocation restricted

Contact Darkroom Winter Residency

Contact DarkroomUnited Kingdom

12daysCloses 1 October 202619 of 31 days used · last checked 31 August 2026
Photograph of the place

London, United Kingdom — not a photograph of this opportunity. Maaria Lohiya justmebreathing, CC0, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from Contact Darkroom, United Kingdom. Applications close 1 October 2026. Official terms last checked 31 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserhow it is funded, what it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
1 October 2026
Entry
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Evidence checked
31 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from contactdarkroom.co.uk and checked on 31 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

As the days draw shorter, CONTACT Darkroom opens up its winter residency. A resource-based programme offering artists and photographers 24-hour-a-day access to fully equipped colour and black-and-white darkrooms, a dedicated workshop room, and an open gallery. Designed for both emerging and established photographers, the residency supports the production of new or existing works in a creative, experimental and community environment.

Based in the market town of Totnes, Devon, the residency sits within a landscape of the River Dart, running from the upper moorlands of Dartmoor to the Atlantic coast, offering a diverse and compelling environment for reflection and experimentation. Artists are encouraged to respond to the seasonal changes and draw inspiration from the surrounding area, whether working on existing projects, testing out new ideas and processes or developing work that responds directly to place.

The winters in South Devon can be magical. The rivers are full, the leaves have fallen, and there may even be snow on the moorlands. It’s a time for reflection, getting lost in the process and practice of photography and where the alchemy of the darkroom comes alive. But remember a coat.

Duration

Our winter residency runs from November 1st 2026 to April 31st 2027, ideally starting on Fridays.

Accommodation

We have a range of private room lodging accommodations situated within walking distance of the darkroom. These are around £50 per night. Residents are more than welcome to find their own accommodation.

Disciplines & equipment

We welcome applications from artists working across photography, film, and lens-based practices, as well as those interested in interdisciplinary work that engages with image-making, print, and alternative processes. Both emerging and established practitioners are encouraged to apply. Our facilities are designed to support a wide range of analogue and digital practices. Artists in residence will have access to: Darkroom facilities – RA4 colour print processing (up to 24-inch), black & white film development and printing, 2 colour enlargers, 3 black&white enlargers, and a large sink suitable for experimental and alternative processes.

Workspaces – desk space, Wi-Fi, and an exhibition area for sharing work. Practical support – technical guidance, accommodation, shared kitchen, bike for local travel, and train station pickup on arrival. Our team offers technical assistance and support tailored to the resident’s project, ensuring they can fully realise their creative ideas during their time with us.

Fees & support

Costs Residency – 1 week: £500 per week 2 weeks: £450 per week 3 weeks and over: £400 per week We also offer inductions to Colour + Black & White printing, which are charged separately. Included in the weekly fee is the following: 24-hour access to all our equipment and workspace. All B&W and colour paper development chemistry. Paper, film and film development chemistry is all charged separately.

Expectations

At the end of the residency, artists are invited but not expected to share their work in a small exhibition, talk or workshop. Optional programmes, such as darkroom workshops, guided walks, excursions, and local gallery visits, can be arranged on request.

How to apply

All applicants are asked to complete the form below, outlining their intentions for the residency and their preferred dates. Once your application has been received, we will be in touch to arrange a video call. We look forward to welcoming you to CONTACT Darkroom.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerContact Darkroom
TypeResidency
Disciplinesphotography
Location / onlineUnited Kingdom
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline1 October 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Funding typeNot stated
Verified31 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Funding classification
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 31 August 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

Contact Darkroom

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site