ResidencySource-linkedInternational

Women's Studio Workshop: Artist's Book Residency Grant

Women's Studio WorkshopNew York, United States

59daysCloses 15 November 202614 of 73 days used · last checked 3 September 2026
Photograph of the place

Washington, D.C., United States — not a photograph of this opportunity. Carol M. Highsmith, PD, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from Women's Studio Workshop, New York, United States. Applications close 15 November 2026. Official terms last checked 3 September 2026.

Not stated by the organiserthe selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
15 November 2026
Entry
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Support
Stipend
Award
Working intensively in our studios, artists print and bind their own books, and are encouraged to create an edition size no larger than 100 and no smaller than 50.The grant includes a stipend of $350/week, up to $750 for materials, up to $250 for travel within the Continental US, free onsite housing, and 24/7 studio access.
Who can apply
Since our founding in 1974, Women’s Studio Workshop has been a professional artist studio dedicated to the creation of community, opportunity, empowerment, and development for women artists in all stages of their careers. As we continue to serve this mission, we believe that we can honor our core values and address gender equity more fully by explicitly expanding our concept of gender beyond patriarchal frames of reference. WSW supports all women and trans, intersex, nonbinary and genderfluid people in residencies and internships. Classes, studio rentals, and public events are open to all. What does this mean when you visit the studio and stay on campus? we intentionally create space to honor pronouns and names we uphold a set of community guidelines and have systems in place to report conflict we firmly believe in fostering an environment of communication, exploration, and bold expression that is respectful, safe, and accepting of all the members of our community. Open to artists based anywhere in the world Any stage of career
Evidence checked
3 September 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from womensstudioworkshop.submittable.com and checked on 3 September 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

The Artist’s Book Grant is a six- to eight-week residency for artists to produce a limited edition book work. Working intensively in our studios, artists print and bind their own books, and are encouraged to create an edition size no larger than 100 and no smaller than 50.The grant includes a stipend of $350/week, up to $750 for materials, up to $250 for travel within the Continental US, free onsite housing, and 24/7 studio access.

WSW can provide technical advice; training on new equipment, techniques, and materials; and production assistance. The contract stipulates that 20% of the edition goes to WSW’s archive, exhibition, and display copies; 20% of the edition goes to the artist; and 60% of the edition goes to general sales. WSW has developed a series of archive and exhibition opportunities for our artists’ books, and artists can collaborate with WSW on marketing for a 50% commission fee.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not statedWorking intensively in our studios, artists print and bind their own books, and are encouraged to create an edition size no larger than 100 and no smaller than 50.The grant includes a stipend of $350/week, up to $750 for materials, up to $250 for travel within the Continental US, free onsite housing, and 24/7 studio access.
Entry fee
Not statedNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated5/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityStated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardStated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerWomen's Studio Workshop
TypeResidency
Disciplinesmixed-media
Location / onlineNew York, United States
EligibilitySince our founding in 1974, Women’s Studio Workshop has been a professional artist studio dedicated to the creation of community, opportunity, empowerment, and development for women artists in all stages of their careers. As we continue to serve this mission, we believe that we can honor our core values and address gender equity more fully by explicitly expanding our concept of gender beyond patriarchal frames of reference. WSW supports all women and trans, intersex, nonbinary and genderfluid people in residencies and internships. Classes, studio rentals, and public events are open to all. What does this mean when you visit the studio and stay on campus? we intentionally create space to honor pronouns and names we uphold a set of community guidelines and have systems in place to report conflict we firmly believe in fostering an environment of communication, exploration, and bold expression that is respectful, safe, and accepting of all the members of our community. Open to artists based anywhere in the world Any stage of career
Deadline15 November 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportWorking intensively in our studios, artists print and bind their own books, and are encouraged to create an edition size no larger than 100 and no smaller than 50.The grant includes a stipend of $350/week, up to $750 for materials, up to $250 for travel within the Continental US, free onsite housing, and 24/7 studio access.
Entry feeNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Funding typeStipend
Verified3 September 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Headline award
Working intensively in our studios, artists print and bind their own books, and are encouraged to create an edition size no larger than 100 and no smaller than 50.The grant includes a stipend of $350/week, up to $750 for materials, up to $250 for travel within the Continental US, free onsite housing, and 24/7 studio access.
No figure given
Funding classification
Stipend
Published signal

Not structured in this record

  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 3 September 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

Women's Studio Workshop

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site