ResidencySource-linkedLocation restricted

OPEN CALL: 2027 Kintsugi Residency – Urushi-Based Traditional Kintsugi & Maki-e in Nara, Japan

TOMA HOUSE AIRJapan

104daysCloses 30 December 202617 of 121 days used · last checked 31 August 2026
Photograph of the place

Tokyo, Japan — not a photograph of this opportunity. Daderot, CC0, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from TOMA HOUSE AIR, Japan. Applications close 30 December 2026. Official terms last checked 31 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserwhat it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
30 December 2026
Entry
Fees and support PROGRAM FEES: From 628,000 JPY Fees vary based on the accommodation selected, and includes 4-week accommodation, studio workspace and specialized tools, all lessons conducted in English, exclusive English Kintsugi Handbook, artisan-grade professional kintsugi kit, authentic repair and maki-e materials, field trips, and Wi-Fi access.
Support
Fee-based
Evidence checked
31 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from tomaunrestored.com and checked on 31 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

KINTSUGI FOR ARTISTS – An Immersive Program in Traditional Urushi Kintsugi & Maki-e Techniques The Kintsugi Residency is a 4-week program for those who are interested in kintsugi to build a foundation in traditional urushi-based kintsugi and maki-e decoration techniques. Guided by an experienced artist alongside guest lecturers, practical workshops, and curated field trips, artists will acquire essential knowledge to carry out traditional urushi-based kintsugi repairs and apply maki-e in their own practices.

HIGHLIGHTS *Learn traditional urushi-based kintsugi repair and decorative maki-e techniques. *Practice-driven curriculum tailored to help artists build an independent practice. *Guided studio practice and individual mentoring by an experienced artist. *Take home an artisan-grade professional kintsugi kit to support artis’t long-term practice. *All-English supported lessons with a dedicated interpreter and exclusive English Kintsugi Handbook.

*Curated field trips to local craft studios, suppliers, and cultural sites. *Personal worktable in a fully equipped shared studio space. *4-week accommodation within an 18th-century cultural property in the heart of Nara City – the attractive ancient capital of Japan with rich history and craft heritage. APPLICATION DEADLINES: Spring Session: December 30th, 2026 Autumn Session: April 30th, 2027 (Note: Applications may close early if spaces are filled.) COVER ARTWORK CREDIT 2026 © Kintsugi Bowl by Claire Olivier (2026 Kintsugi Residency)

Duration

4-week program: Spring Session: April 17 – May 14, 2027 Autumn Session: September 11 – October 8, 2027

Accommodation

4-week private bedroom in shared accommodation in the heart of Nara City: Choose between an 18th-century registered Tangible Cultural Property of Japan or the residency annex building. Shared spaces include: The studio, fully furnished kitchen, shower, toilets, laundry facilities, garden, and common areas.

Disciplines & equipment

DISCIPLINES: Pottery, Ceramics, Crafts, Design, Conservation and Restoration, Material Research, Sculpture, and Interdisciplinary Arts. WORK EQUIPMENT PROVIDED: * Personal worktable in a fully equipped shared studio with additional materials and furo (curing cabinet for kintsugi and urushi artworks). * An artisan-grade kintsugi kit to use and keep, with genuine gold and silver powder included. * Ceramics / pottery pieces for kintsugi lesson projects.

ASSISTANCE: * Kintsugi and maki-e lessons led by an experienced English-speaking artist-instructor with a dedicated English Kintsugi Handbook. * Japanese-, English-, and Mandarin-speaking AIR staff are available. * An Official Toma House AIR Artist’s Guide to assist artists in preparing for their residency and getting around Nara and Japan after arrival.

Studio

Personal worktable in a fully equipped shared studio with specialized tools for kintsugi and maki-e lacquer art, furo (curing cabinet for kintsugi and maki-e artworks).

Fees & support

PROGRAM FEES: From 628,000 JPY Fees vary based on the accommodation selected, and includes 4-week accommodation, studio workspace and specialized tools, all lessons conducted in English, exclusive English Kintsugi Handbook, artisan-grade professional kintsugi kit, authentic repair and maki-e materials, field trips, and Wi-Fi access. SUPPORT: This is a self-funded residency program. Official supporting documents are available upon request to assist accepted artists in seeking external grant funding.

Expectations

Artists are expected to attend and actively engage in the lessons, studio practices, workshops, and field trips in this course, and complete traditional urushi-based kintsugi projects by the end of the program. Artists may bring their own broken ceramics or use the practice pieces provided by the residency. Full details can be found in the Application Guidelines on the official website.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedFees and support PROGRAM FEES: From 628,000 JPY Fees vary based on the accommodation selected, and includes 4-week accommodation, studio workspace and specialized tools, all lessons conducted in English, exclusive English Kintsugi Handbook, artisan-grade professional kintsugi kit, authentic repair and maki-e materials, field trips, and Wi-Fi access.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerTOMA HOUSE AIR
TypeResidency
Disciplinesceramics
Location / onlineJapan
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline30 December 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeFees and support PROGRAM FEES: From 628,000 JPY Fees vary based on the accommodation selected, and includes 4-week accommodation, studio workspace and specialized tools, all lessons conducted in English, exclusive English Kintsugi Handbook, artisan-grade professional kintsugi kit, authentic repair and maki-e materials, field trips, and Wi-Fi access.
Funding typeFee-based
Verified31 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Funding classification
Fee-based
Published signal

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
Fees and support PROGRAM FEES: From 628,000 JPY Fees vary based on the accommodation selected, and includes 4-week accommodation, studio workspace and specialized tools, all lessons conducted in English, exclusive English Kintsugi Handbook, artisan-grade professional kintsugi kit, authentic repair and maki-e materials, field trips, and Wi-Fi access.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 31 August 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

TOMA HOUSE AIR

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site