ResidencySource-linkedInternational

Mortem: Online Death School

Residency organizerOnline

3daysCloses 20 September 202617 of 20 days used · last checked 31 August 2026
Photograph of the place

Photography workspace — not a photograph of this opportunity. Fuzheado, CC0, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from Residency organizer, run online. Applications close 20 September 2026. Official terms last checked 31 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserhow it is funded, what it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
20 September 2026
Entry
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Evidence checked
31 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from artayatana.com and checked on 31 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

Mortem Online Death School is a two-week program for artists to pursue their curiosity about death and to explore and develop their identity as a death-curious artist. The virtual residency will involve daily live video lectures with international death care and funeral industry workers, historians, biologists and artists presenting research about a range of death related topics, one tethered international field trip in a graveyard near you and many short one on one meetings with artists who make art about death around the world.

Built in to the 2 – 3 hours of daily programming are discussions, recommended assignments and show and tell. The program is designed to give insight into death knowledge and ritual from a wide range of perspectives. Ayatana death residencies facilitate talk about death and talk about talking about death. It is not grief therapy and won’t ask you to dwell on pain from your past, although it will be an opportunity to share past experiences in a death positive context and may be therapeutic.

It will help you identify as an artist who works with themes of death and give you tools to talk about it and to get involved with non-art professionals who also work with death. Outline Residents are invited to give a private artist talk to share your work with the group. Murder, Martyrdom and Apotheosis in Art History, a guided tour of the collection at the National Gallery of Canada Krilian photography, Sacrifice and life left in the body Talk to a funeral director to learn about standard burial and cremation processes.

Talk with a green burial activist. Embalming chat with an eco-casket builder. Presentation of the history of death rituals around the world. What happens when you die? A chat with the Anatomy Laboratory at the University of Ottawa. Non human mourning rituals with a zoologist. Haunting: Seminar lead by paranormal investigator Palliative care: Chat with a death Douala

Duration

2 weeks Accommodation on line

Disciplines & equipment

Open to all creative practitioners interested in the expertise of death care workers. Studio / Workspace private Fees and support $600 USD Residency places are limited to 7 artists. Official invites will be given to accepted applicants to help find grants and funding.

Expectations

You are invited to give a short artst’s talk to introduce your work to the group.

How to apply

Send the following material to ArtLovesScience@gmail.com1. Artist CV2. Artist statement (about 200 words)3. Ayatana form4. Portfolio 5 – 10 examples of your work

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerResidency organizer
TypeResidency
Disciplinesphotography
Location / onlineOnline
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline20 September 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Funding typeNot stated
Verified31 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Funding classification
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 31 August 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

Residency organizer

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site