This cycle closed on 10 September 2026. The evidence remains available for research. Every cycle MacDowell has run
ResidencySource-linkedLocation restricted

MacDowell Call for Applications: Spring Summer 2027

MacDowellUnited States

Photograph of the place

Washington, D.C., United States — not a photograph of this opportunity. U.S. Deputy Secretary of Defense Kathleen H. Hicks, PD, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from MacDowell, United States. Applications close 10 September 2026. Official terms last checked 31 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserhow it is funded, what it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
10 September 2026
Entry
Fees and support No residency fee; financial aid is available based on demonstrated need (includes stipends and direct travel/materials reimbursement).
Evidence checked
31 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from macdowell.org and checked on 31 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

Established in 1907, MacDowell is a renowned artist residency program located in Peterborough, NH, offering a rural, serene, supportive environment for creative work. The residency promotes artistic freedom and encourages participation from a diverse range of artistic disciplines and voices. Artists are eligible to apply to MacDowell if they are generating original works of art, are at least 21 years of age and are not currently enrolled in a degree program (with the exception of ABD students).

Applications are completed online and can be found through MacDowell’s website. A complete application includes general information forms, a project proposal with work samples that demonstrate experience within the same discipline and genre as the proposed project, as well as five artistic achievements relevant to the applicants’ artistic career. Applications for residencies from March 1 – August 31, 2027 will open on August 15, 2026.

The deadline for accepting applications will be September 10, 2026. Please contact admissions@macdowell.org with any inquiry on the process.

Duration

During the March 1 – August 31, 2027 residency season, accepted artists are hosted for 2–8 weeks. The recommended minimum length of time for a Fellowship is 2 weeks with an average residency being 30 days.

Accommodation

Private housing, studio, and three prepared meals per day. Self-sufficiency and comfort with solitude are important due to the residency’s rural setting.

Disciplines & equipment

Architecture, Film/Video Arts, Interdisciplinary Arts, Literature, Music Composition, Theatre, Visual Arts Artists whose work doesn't clearly fall into these categories are encouraged to contact admissions.

Studio

Exclusive use of a rustic, comfortably furnished studio tailored to the artist's needs; 24/7 access to a shared, state-of-the-art library.

Fees & support

No residency fee; financial aid is available based on demonstrated need (includes stipends and direct travel/materials reimbursement).

Expectations

Artists are encouraged but not required to share their work with other residents or participate in outreach events; Fellows are asked to agree to a community code of conduct to ensure a respectful and enriching atmosphere.

How to apply

Discipline specific work sample requirements, along with the online application, can be found on the MacDowell website. Please use the Menu option to find further information, including “Work Sample Requirements” and “Apply for a Fellowship.”

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedFees and support No residency fee; financial aid is available based on demonstrated need (includes stipends and direct travel/materials reimbursement).
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerMacDowell
TypeResidency
Disciplinesmixed-media
Location / onlineUnited States
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline10 September 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeFees and support No residency fee; financial aid is available based on demonstrated need (includes stipends and direct travel/materials reimbursement).
Funding typeNot stated
Verified31 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Funding classification
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
Fees and support No residency fee; financial aid is available based on demonstrated need (includes stipends and direct travel/materials reimbursement).
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 31 August 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
  2. 11 September 2026Cycle closedStatus changed automatically after deadline
Read the research standard

Organizer file

MacDowell

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site