Umrao Singh Sher-Gil Grant for Photography 2026
Sher-Gil Sundaram Arts Foundation · India
Two grants of INR 500,000 for India-based photographers in staged or documentary work.
- Funding
- Funded
- Entry
- Free
- Odds
- Not published
By opportunity
Money and time
34 of 222 pay the artist. 19 cost nothing to enter.
Closing soon
11 close inside a week. 43 never close at all.
By practice
14 practices tracked. 30 calls take any medium.
By place
35 countries represented. 123 take applicants from anywhere.
The index and the method
Harpo FoundationUnited States

Washington, D.C., United States — not a photograph of this opportunity. Unknown authorUnknown author, PD, Wikimedia Commons
The short answer
A grant from Harpo Foundation, United States. Applications close 27 April 2026. Official terms last checked 5 September 2026.
Not stated by the organiserthe selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.
In the organiser's words
Quoted from harpofoundation.org and checked on 5 September 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.
The foundation states that awards are made up to $10,000 and that a $15 application fee is required, with waivers available on written request for financial hardship. Applicants must be 21 years or older and a United States citizen or Legal Permanent Resident. Artists currently enrolled in or recently graduated from a fine arts degree programme are not eligible, nor are previous Harpo grant recipients. The deadline for the 2026 cycle was 27 April 2026 and the portal is now closed; this record is the archive of that cycle.
The money, to scale
Verified facts
Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.
| Organizer | Harpo Foundation |
|---|---|
| Type | Grant |
| Disciplines | fine-art, any |
| Location / online | United States |
| Eligibility | Self-defined under-recognized visual artists aged 21 years or older who are a United States citizen or Legal Permanent Resident. Artists currently enrolled in or who recently completed a fine arts degree programme are not eligible. |
| Deadline | 27 April 2026 |
| Opens | Not stated |
| Award / support | Awards are made up to $10,000 |
| Entry fee | A $15 application fee is required, with waivers available on written request. |
| Funding type | Funded |
| Verified | 5 September 2026 |
Support ledger
Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.
Not structured in this record
Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.
True cost to enter
Published selection odds
The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.
No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.
Application control list
This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a grant. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.
Seven-day application plan
Source + change record
This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.
Open the research sourceVerification history
Organizer file
See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.
Official application handoff
Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.