ResidencySource-linkedLocation restricted

Grounded Residency

Grounded Print + Paper ShopUnited States

28daysCloses 15 October 202617 of 45 days used · last checked 31 August 2026
Photograph of the place

Washington, D.C., United States — not a photograph of this opportunity. Kurt Kaiser, CC0, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from Grounded Print + Paper Shop, United States. Applications close 15 October 2026. Official terms last checked 31 August 2026.

Not stated by the organiserhow it is funded, what it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
15 October 2026
Entry
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Evidence checked
31 August 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from groundedprintshop.com and checked on 31 August 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

The Studio Access Residency is designed for artists who want to take full advantage of Grounded Printshop’s facilities. In addition to a private studio for one month and a featured exhibition in Liminal Space Gallery, residents receive access to Grounded’s shared equipment and studios, including printmaking, papermaking, bookbinding, Risograph and other available tools and resources. This option is ideal for artists interested in experimenting with new processes, expanding their practice, or creating work using Grounded’s equipment. The weekly cost without materials is $150 per week.

Grounded accepts residency applications four times a year. Each application cycle covers a three-month residency window, giving artists the flexibility to choose the length of their stay based on their practice, schedule, and travel plans. Residencies may be as short as one week or extend for several weeks or months. The Grounded Print + Papershop Artist Residency is designed to give artists the time, space, and resources to fully immerse themselves in their creative practice.

Whether you’re developing a new body of work, exploring a new medium, or simply looking for uninterrupted studio time, our residency offers a supportive environment within a thriving community of artists.

Residents become part of a creative ecosystem that includes printmakers, papermakers, ceramicists, fiber artists, illustrators, painters, and others. Throughout the residency, artists are encouraged to connect with the community through open studios, demonstrations, artist talks, or workshops, through community engagement can be tailored to each artist’s interests and goals.

All residency options are open to both emerging and established artists. We welcome applications from creatives working across traditional, experimental, and interdisciplinary practices who are interested in spending time creating, connecting, and sharing their work within the Grounded community.

Duration

1-4 weeks

Accommodation

We have a dedicated Residency apartment near Grounded that the artist can rent for $200 a week. It is within walking distance of the studio.

Disciplines & equipment

Open to all, especially geared towards, Printmakers, Papermakers, Bookmakers. This is what we have specific tools for but the private studio is open for whatever.

Studio

The studio we have available is private with a gigantic window and view of trees. It is on the second floor. The shared tools and main workspace is on the first floor and is handicap accessible.

Fees & support

The baseline studio fee is $150, consumable materials (paper, pulp, ink) are additional.

Expectations

Artist talks, and/or workshops are encouraged but optional. Participation in both group and solo shows in our dedicated gallery space is encouraged.

How to apply

The first step to applying is filling out the form on Grounded’s website where you can share your interest in the residency and about the work you make. There is space in the form to upload ten images of your work.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerGrounded Print + Paper Shop
TypeResidency
Disciplinesceramics
Location / onlineUnited States
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline15 October 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeNo reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Funding typeNot stated
Verified31 August 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Funding classification
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
No reliable fee amount was extracted; costs remain unknown rather than assumed free.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 31 August 2026UnchangedAI-reviewed/source-verified: structured source evidence, visual-arts scope, actionable deadline, reachable organizer route and title corroboration. Unknown costs remain unknown.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

Grounded Print + Paper Shop

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site