ResidencySource-linkedInternational

EXPANDED PHOTOGRAPHY RESEARCH RESIDENCY Japan | 2027–2028

FotoCreativaBAOnline · Japan

104daysCloses 30 December 202616 of 120 days used · last checked 1 September 2026
Photograph of the place

Tokyo, Japan — not a photograph of this opportunity. Syced, CC0, Wikimedia Commons

The short answer

A residency from FotoCreativaBA, Japan, run partly online. Applications close 30 December 2026. Official terms last checked 1 September 2026.

Not stated by the organiserwhat it pays, who can apply, the selection odds. Blank is never read as favourable, and nothing here is estimated to fill it.

Closes
30 December 2026
Entry
Fees and support As a self-funded international platform, the residency relies on a program fee with the following structure: Fee Range / Investment: An initial enrollment fee of USD 360 (payable only upon acceptance to secure the spot), followed by an installment plan of 12 monthly payments of USD 240 during the online phase.
Support
Fee-based
Evidence checked
1 September 2026

In the organiser's words

What the official page says.

Quoted from fotocreativaba.com and checked on 1 September 2026. This is the organiser's description, reproduced as captured. It has not been through the evidence checks that produced the figures above.

The Expanded Photography Research Residency is a hybrid international program organized by FotoCreativaBA in collaboration with IDEA R LAB (directed by Hiroko Ohtsuki in Kurashiki, Japan). The platform connects expanded photography, visual observation, material processes, local contexts, and global cultural exchange. The programming is structured into three distinct phases: Phase 1 (12-Month Online Laboratory): Shifting away from heavy weekly screen time, this phase prioritizes autonomous processes, deep reading, and monthly theoretical/creative triggers linking contemporary expanded photography with Japanese aesthetics (e.g., Wabi-Sabi, Kintsugi, the Ma interval, and the Provoke movement).

It includes monthly 1-on-1 curatorial reviews, collective critiques, and guest lectures. Phase 2 (1-Month On-Site Residency): Fieldwork at IDEA R LAB focused on studio work, site-specific research, and material investigation using local industrial waste. Phase 3 (Closing & Public Presentation): Final project reviews, open studios, process-based exhibitions, or activations both online and at the FotoCreativaBA gallery.

The program is explicitly conceived as a space for exploration, learning, and transcultural dialogue rather than a purely production-oriented residency.

Duration

The complete hybrid program lasts 13 months in total. This includes a 12-month online laboratory (March 2027 – February 2028), followed by a 1-month on-site stay in Kurashiki, Japan. Artists can choose their preferred month for the in-person phase from three available slots in 2028: March, April, or May (with 3 artists hosted per month, totaling 9 artists).

Accommodation

Artists receive full accommodation during their 1-month on-site stay in Japan, to ensure a comfortable stay while interacting with the residency peers and the local community.

Disciplines & equipment

Eligible Disciplines: Open to visual artists, contemporary photographers, and researchers from anywhere in the world interested in expanded photography, material processes, and transcultural dialogue. The program is fully bilingual (Spanish/English friendly). Work Equipment & Resources: Artists have access to specialized workspaces and a unique framework for creative reuse. This includes access to local industrial waste materials and discarded objects to be used as creative media, alongside guidance on collecting, documenting, and conceptually reinterpreting these elements.

Assistance & Mentorship: The program provides continuous curatorial training. This includes monthly 1-on-1 curatorial feedback and mentorship sessions with Program Director Natheim, as well as on-site coordination, local integration, and expert facilitation by Hiroko Ohtsuki in Japan.

Studio

Artists have full access to the dedicated studio facilities and workspaces at IDEA R LAB. The workspace is shared among the 3 artists in residence each month, fostering a collaborative learning environment. It is designed to support material experimentation, site-specific research, and direct dialogue with the local environment and the Kurashiki community.

Fees & support

As a self-funded international platform, the residency relies on a program fee with the following structure: Fee Range / Investment: An initial enrollment fee of USD 360 (payable only upon acceptance to secure the spot), followed by an installment plan of 12 monthly payments of USD 240 during the online phase. What is included: 12 months of specialized online curatorial training and regular feedback, specialized seminars, use of shared studio facilities, community living support, Wi-Fi, full on-site accommodation in Japan (room, linens, breakfast, and dinner), and a formal exhibition opportunity to showcase work at the FotoCreativaBA gallery in Buenos Aires, Argentina. What is NOT included: Airfare to Japan, personal expenses, and personal art materials.

The money, to scale

What it pays, and what it costs to ask.

Model my own cost
Award
Not stated
Entry fee
Not statedFees and support As a self-funded international platform, the residency relies on a program fee with the following structure: Fee Range / Investment: An initial enrollment fee of USD 360 (payable only upon acceptance to secure the spot), followed by an installment plan of 12 monthly payments of USD 240 during the online phase.
Total to enter
Not stated

No award, entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. The organiser's own description below may still name figures; those have not been through the evidence checks, and unstated here is not the same as free.

Critical fields stated3/6
  • DeadlineStated
  • EligibilityNot stated
  • Entry feeNot stated
  • AwardNot stated
  • LocationStated
  • Official linkStated

Verified facts

The evidence ledger

Blank fields are never interpreted as favorable. The organizer’s current terms remain controlling.

OrganizerFotoCreativaBA
TypeResidency
Disciplinesphotography
Location / onlineOnline · Japan
EligibilityNot stated on the official page
Deadline30 December 2026
OpensNot stated
Award / supportNot stated on the official page
Entry feeFees and support As a self-funded international platform, the residency relies on a program fee with the following structure: Fee Range / Investment: An initial enrollment fee of USD 360 (payable only upon acceptance to secure the spot), followed by an installment plan of 12 monthly payments of USD 240 during the online phase.
Funding typeFee-based
Verified1 September 2026

Support ledger

What it gives, and what stays unclear.

Every row is read off this record. Nothing is filled in from what an opportunity of this kind usually offers.

Funding classification
Fee-based
Published signal

Not structured in this record

  • Headline award
  • Travel + shipping
  • Accommodation + studio
  • Accessibility

Ask the organiser before you budget. An unstated cost is an unknown cost, not a free one.

True cost to enter

Not stated

No entry fee or cost estimate has been extracted for this record. Unstated is not free: confirm the fee, the framing and the shipping in the official brief before you budget.

Application
Fees and support As a self-funded international platform, the residency relies on a program fee with the following structure: Fee Range / Investment: An initial enrollment fee of USD 360 (payable only upon acceptance to secure the spot), followed by an installment plan of 12 monthly payments of USD 240 during the online phase.
Open cost evidence Model my own cost

Published selection odds

Not published

The organiser does not publish acceptance numbers.

No proxy score, reputation estimate or invented probability replaces missing applicant and selection counts.

Application control list

Build the file set without inventing requirements.

This call publishes no requirements of its own, so these are the common preparation categories for a residency. Confirm every format, word count and required document against the official brief.

  1. 01Selected work samplesConfirm officially
  2. 02Artist statement or proposalConfirm officially
  3. 03Short biographyConfirm officially
  4. 04CV or résuméConfirm officially
  5. 05Captions and file specificationsConfirm officially

Seven-day application plan

A calm route to submit.

  1. Day 1Eligibility + source
  2. Day 2Select evidence
  3. Day 3Draft narrative
  4. Day 4Budget + logistics
  5. Day 5External review
  6. Day 6Format + upload
  7. Day 7Submit + archive
Open the planner

Source + change record

See what was checked.

This record is tied to an organizer-controlled source. Material changes should update the evidence date rather than merely refreshing the page timestamp.

Open the research source

Verification history

  1. 1 September 2026unconfirmedPromoted from the aggregator lead WITHOUT organizer corroboration, by explicit operator decision. Organizer check outcome: organizer page is reachable but does not corroborate enough title terms. HTTP status seen: 200. The listing reflects what Res Artis published, not a confirmed organizer page.
Read the research standard

Organizer file

FotoCreativaBA

See the organization’s active calls and recurring program history in one durable record.

Open organization profile

Official application handoff

Prepare here. Apply at the source.

Artist Opportunities does not host the application, process entry payments or receive a percentage.

Apply on the official site